Posts filed under ‘Business & Economics’

Measuring the Progress of Women with The XX Factor

978-0-307-59040-4This semester, students taking “Social Scientific Perspectives on the Family and the Market”, a History course at the Catholic University of America, read Alison Wolf’s The XX Factor as a core text for the class.  In the book, English economist and journalist Alison Wolf examines why  educated women are now working longer hours and how feminism has actually created a less equal world.  Professor Jerry Z. Muller, who incorporated the book into his curriculum, remarked that the book “not only draws together research from a wide range of social sciences, but combines it with well-grounded speculation and sound judgment.”  To read an excerpt from the book, click here.

Alison Wolf is an academic and writer living in London. She is currently the Sir Roy Griffiths Professor of Public Sector Management at King’s College, London. She also advises the UK government on education policy.

—————————————————————

Order a desk or examination copy here

More about this book

May 16, 2014 at 6:06 pm Leave a comment

Now in Paperback, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

9780307352156Watch Susan Cain’s 2012 TED Talk at www.thepowerofintroverts.com

Science and psychology is beginning to recognize how dramatically the introvert-extrovert spectrum shapes culture every bit as profoundly as gender or race. In a new paradigm-shifting book, Quiet, author Susan Cain highlights how misunderstood and and undervalued introverts often are, and gives introverts the tools to take full advantage of their personalities, while showing extroverts how they can learn from them. Passionately argued, superbly researched, and filled with stories of real people, Quiet shows why the world will depend on the strengths of introverts in the decades to come.

Quiet has been selected for common reading at Case Western Reserve University and is now being used in several courses at these following colleges:

Bucknell University; Colby-Sawyer College; Queens University Of Charlotte; University Of North Dakota Main Campus; University Of North Florida; and Wheaton College

Here is a Message from Susan Cain: (more…)

April 24, 2013 at 2:20 pm Leave a comment

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: The Top Common Reading Book of 2011 and 2012

Winner of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine’s Communication Award for Best Book
Winner of the Chicago Tribune Heartland Prize for Nonfiction
Winner of the Wellcome Trust Book Prize

Named by more than 60 critics as one of the best books of 2010, including: Best Book of the Year at: O, The Oprah Magazine, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Bookmarks Magazine, Kirkus Reviews, Booklist, Entertainment Weekly, East Bay Express, and Kansas City Star, A Discover Magazine 2010 Must Read, National Public Radio, Best of the Bestsellers

In 1951, an African American woman named Henrietta Lacks, stricken with cervical cancer, became an involuntary donor of cells from her cancerous tumor, which were propagated by scientist George Otto Gey to create an immortal cell line for medical research. These cells are now known worldwide as HeLa. In The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, award-winning science writer Rebecca Skloot brilliantly weaves together the Lacks’s story–past and present–with the story of the birth of bioethics, the story of HeLa cells, and the dark history of experimentation on African Americans. Important, powerful, and compassionate, this is a remarkable work of science and social journalism.  (more…)

March 12, 2013 at 1:03 am 4 comments

Red Ink by David Wessel Picked Up at The University of Hawaii

This semester, Dan Boylan, a prominent political commentator in Hawaii, is assigning Red Ink to the class he teaches at University of Hawaii – West Oahu.  To read his article, “Sobering Dose of Economic Reality,” click here.

David Wessel, the Pulitzer-Prize-winning reporter, columnist, and bestselling author of In Fed We Trust, dissects a topic–the federal budget–that is fiercely debated today in the halls of Congress and the media, and yet is misunderstood by the American public.

In a sweeping narrative about the people and the politics behind the budget, Wessel looks at the 2011 fiscal year (which ended September 30) to see where all the money was actually spent, and why the budget process has grown wildly out of control. Through the eyes of key people–Jacob Lew, White House director of the Office of Management and Budget; Douglas Elmendorf, director of the Congressional Budget Office; Blackstone founder and former Commerce Secretary Pete Peterson; and more–Wessel gives readers an inside look at the making of our unsustainable budget.

“David Wessel’s Red Ink is a wise and pithy introduction to the great economic issue of our time.” –N. Gregory Mankiw, professor of Economics, Harvard University (more…)

September 4, 2012 at 6:19 pm Leave a comment

Jay-Z now a Course Taught at Georgetown: “Sociology of Hip-Hop: Jay-Z”

This fall, Georgetown University has announced that noted educator, Dr. Michael Eric Dyson, will be teaching a course revolving around hip hop mogul Jay Z and his book Decoded. For the millions who know him as the greatest rapper alive and an unparalleled cultural and business icon, Decoded is the story of the legendary Jay-Z, told through lyrics, images, and a powerful and surprising personal narrative. This is an intimate, first-person portrait of the life and art of Jay-Z, organized around a “decoding” of his most famous and provocative lyrics.

Prof. Dyson describes the course as follows: “We look at his incredible body of work, we look at his own understanding of his work, we look at others who reflect upon him, and then we ask the students to engage in critical analysis of Jay-Z himself.”  For more information on the course, see video at: http://rapfix.mtv.com/2011/10/10/michael-eric-dyson-on-jay-z-georgetown-university-course/

“Compelling. . . . Part autobiography, part lavishly illustrated commentary on the author’s own work, Decoded gives the reader a harrowing portrait of the rough worlds Jay-Z navigated in his youth, while at the same time deconstructing his lyrics. . . . [P]rovocative, evocative. . . .” —Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times (more…)

October 18, 2011 at 6:27 pm Leave a comment

Be Among the First to Assign Renowned Negotiator and Wharton Professor Stuart Diamond’s Negotiation Book, Getting More

For a Limited Time: Free Copy Available to Professors*getting
*E-mail LeLee@randomhouse.com for a free copy

His life-changing course has been the most sought-after at The Wharton Business School for more than a decade. As a professor from practice at Wharton and an adjunct Professor at Penn Law School, Stuart Diamond has taught and consulted on negotiation in more than 40 countries from the Hollywood Writers’ Strike to billion dollar money deals to family business. His new book, GETTING MORE, debunks myths like “win-win” and “alternatives to agreement” and refocuses on meeting goals in an emotional world.

Here is an exclusive note from Prof. Diamond on his new book, Getting More: (more…)

December 7, 2010 at 9:53 pm Leave a comment

Now in Paperback: In Fed We Trust Is On the Curriculum at University of Texas at Tyler and Texas State University

In Fed We Trust shortlisted for Business Book of the Yearin fed

David Wessel’s In Fed We Trust: Ben Bernanke’s War on the Great Panic was among six finalists for FT/Goldman Sachs 2009 Business Book of the Year.

This is a breathtaking and singularly perceptive look at a historic episode in American and global economic history.

Texas State University’s McCoy College of Business will be using In Fed We Trust: Ben Bernanke’s War on the Great Panic in its Eco 3311 – Money and Banking course and also the University of Texas at Tyler will be using the book for its Principles of Economics course this Fall 2010.  (more…)

September 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm Leave a comment

Nassim Taleb’s Acclaimed The Black Swan Taught at Belmont University

black

A black swan is a highly improbable event that is unpredictable, carries a massive impact, and later appears more predictable than it was. For scholar and essayist, Nassim Taleb, black swans underlie almost everything about our world, from the rise of religions to events in our own personal lives.

Why do we not acknowledge these black swans until after they occur? According to Taleb, humans are hardwired to learn specifics when they should be focused on generalities. We concentrate on things we already know and repeatedly fail to consider what we don’t know. We are, therefore, unable to truly estimate opportunities; too vulnerable to the impulse to simplify, narrate, and categorize; and not open enough to rewarding those brave enough to imagine the “impossible.”

The Black Swan, now available in a revised second edition, has been selected for Wellesley Reads 2010 and several colleges, including Belmont University’s Political Science Dept., have adopted the book for courses. (more…)

September 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm Leave a comment

In Pursuit of Elegance is the Common Summer Reader at Columbus College of Art & Design

in pursuit

Written in the tradition of The Tipping Point, Made to Stick, and The Black Swan, In Pursuit of Elegance will change the way you and your students think about the world.

In this thought-provoking exploration of why certain events, products, and people capture our attention and imaginations, Matthew E. May examines the elusive element behind so many innovative breakthroughs in fields ranging from physics and marketing to design and popular culture. Combining unusual simplicity and surprising power, elegance is characterized by four key elements—seduction, subtraction, symmetry, and sustainability. In a compelling, story-driven narrative that sheds light on the need for elegance in design, engineering, art, urban planning, sports, and work, May offers surprising evidence that what’s “not there” often trumps what is.

The Columbus College of Art and Design’s Foundation Studies program has selected In Pursuit of Elegance for its Freshman Summer Reading for 2010.

To read an excerpt, click here.

To order an examination copy, click here.

May 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm Leave a comment

Take Students to Great Heights! Make the Impossible Possible Selected as Common Reader at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Voorhees College, and Winthrop University

make

Bill Strickland’s Make the Impossible Possible: One Man’s Crusade to Inspire Others to Dream Bigger and Achieve the Extraordinary has been adopted for common reading at several colleges and universities, including Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Frank Phillips College, Voorhees College, and Winthrop University.  At IUP, the book was selected by a panel of faculty and staff.  To qualify for adoption in the program, a book must be relevant to today’s students, offer interdisciplinary appeal, and provide opportunities for additional and diverse programming.

To view the author’s presentation at the recent 2010 First-Year Experience conference please click here. Later this month Strickland will be conferred with honorary degrees from Babson College and Marywood University. A full listing of his honorary degrees can be found here. (more…)

April 28, 2010 at 6:19 pm Leave a comment

Older Posts


New trade fiction, non-fiction and memoir being used in the classroom.

Categories

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Privacy Policy


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.