Posts tagged ‘business history’

Now in Paperback: In Fed We Trust Is On the Curriculum at University of Texas at Tyler and Texas State University

In Fed We Trust shortlisted for Business Book of the Yearin fed

David Wessel’s In Fed We Trust: Ben Bernanke’s War on the Great Panic was among six finalists for FT/Goldman Sachs 2009 Business Book of the Year.

This is a breathtaking and singularly perceptive look at a historic episode in American and global economic history.

Texas State University’s McCoy College of Business will be using In Fed We Trust: Ben Bernanke’s War on the Great Panic in its Eco 3311 – Money and Banking course and also the University of Texas at Tyler will be using the book for its Principles of Economics course this Fall 2010.  (more…)

Advertisements

September 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm Leave a comment

In Pursuit of Elegance is the Common Summer Reader at Columbus College of Art & Design

in pursuit

Written in the tradition of The Tipping Point, Made to Stick, and The Black Swan, In Pursuit of Elegance will change the way you and your students think about the world.

In this thought-provoking exploration of why certain events, products, and people capture our attention and imaginations, Matthew E. May examines the elusive element behind so many innovative breakthroughs in fields ranging from physics and marketing to design and popular culture. Combining unusual simplicity and surprising power, elegance is characterized by four key elements—seduction, subtraction, symmetry, and sustainability. In a compelling, story-driven narrative that sheds light on the need for elegance in design, engineering, art, urban planning, sports, and work, May offers surprising evidence that what’s “not there” often trumps what is.

The Columbus College of Art and Design’s Foundation Studies program has selected In Pursuit of Elegance for its Freshman Summer Reading for 2010.

To read an excerpt, click here.

To order an examination copy, click here.

May 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm Leave a comment


New trade fiction, non-fiction and memoir being used in the classroom.

Categories

October 2019
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Privacy Policy